Champagne and Canapés (2013 Jul)

Champagne and canapes
Champagne and canapes

This is the second piece from the Black Sketchbook; I don’t really know what to make of it. Although the Black Sketchbook is my personal diary, I don’t fully understand every piece in it. You see, drawing gives my subconscious a lot of discretion. Sometimes, like in this case, my subconscious takes over, it does whatever it wants and I end up with a piece that I don’t really understand. I have always thought that if I could ask my subconscious mind, it would have the right answers.

I don’t remember why I called it champagne and canapés. Her disposition seems to play around with light and darkness; if you were to section out her eyes from the rest of her face, you would probably notice what I perceived as painful boredom. Her eyes have no light in them, yet she has that side smile thing going on and it lights up her whole face. I have no idea what is going on in her mind.

 

Leave a Reply

